Creative What?

Today’s special Halloween post…

Yes, I know, this is going to sound ridiculous- even contradictory and maybe some of you will even take me as a ‘sell out’…

I visited the Creative Cleaver shop after reading on a fellow local healthy foodie blog, LivingMintGreen, that they didn’t just carry meat- but also organic dairy and vegetarian items too.  This past Saturday, we left the last day of the farmer’s market for the season, (which, was a little bit sad as it seemed to still be hopping), and headed over the the Creative Cleaver.

My husband, unfortunately, eats meat.  He often gets tempted by slimy, cheap convenience meats and so we’ve both sort of been on a mission to find ‘ethical meat’ (not my terminology) for him to eat.  Anyway, there was plenty of that at the Creative Cleaver, and even some for our dog (better than chalky milk bones, right?).  Organic, free range, grass fed..

I was pleasantly distracted by the dairy cooler placed near the front entrance of the door.  It was nice not to have to walk through aisles of meat to get to what I was interested in.   They carried local organic milk products from Vital Green Farms, goat milk products, some cheeses I recognized from the farmer’s market, frozen vegetarian and non-vegetarian foods, breads, hemp hearts, energy bars, and lots more!  I ended up with a tub of organic vanilla yogurt, a container of organic cream cheese, a tub of hemp hearts, and a frozen entree- sort of a nut loaf- turkey breast looking thing (I can’t remember what the company is called, but it is a local company).  Win for me!

The woman at the counter was happy to provide us with further information on any of the products we chose.  So all in all, if you are looking for local (mostly dairy) products, and can bear the sights of meat everywhere, the Creative Cleaver isn’t such a bad place.  I like to support local when ever I can, and I’d much rather support a store that carries products that don’t come from factory farms, even if that means coming into close contact with dead flesh.

1010 Mayor Magrath Dr S
Lethbridge, AB T1K 2P8
(403) 329-3354
Do you have any favorite places to shop in Lethbridge & area for local or veggie-friendly foods? 
5 thoughts on “Creative What?

  1. Thanks for the great post! Hadn’t heard of this place before, nice to hear about a local dairy provider! Will have to check it out. Just found your blog and am really enjoying it! Great job!

    • Hi Jo! I have been to Harvest Haven but personally, I don’t feel comfortable supporting them. Upon delving deeper into their website and links, I was taken aback by some of the content. I won’t go into specifics but I encourage you to have a closer look. It’s too bad that religious extremism sometimes goes hand in hand with more natural lifestyles.

      • Hmm, yeah I kinda wondered about their religious beliefs/practises. I’ll definitely have to research them some more, because you’re not the first person I’ve heard that from.

Leave a Reply

