Food in Jars

I’ve been spending some time lately preserving some of the spring harvest by canning.  A while back, I stumbled upon the blog Food in Jars, and its been such a great resource.  I love Marisa’s small batch recipes that don’t require a huge investment of time or produce.  Often they give you 2 or 3 jars of jam or pickles, which is just perfect for me (there’s only so much you can eat and give away- besides, there’s too many recipes I want to try to invest so much in one go!)

Here’s what I’ve made recently:

Pickled wild asparagus
My hubby went and did one last harvest in the coulees, and then he had to leave town for about a week.  So I thought I’d surprise him by not eating it all myself and preserving it instead!  I used the Small batch refrigerator pickles recipe and blanched the asparagus first.  These are so much better than any store bought.  I had to add a little extra vinegar and this gave me 2 large jars.

Pickled Spring Onions
Having finished off a jar of the aforementioned pickled wild asparagus, I didn’t want to throw that yummy, garlicky, dilly brine away.  And the zucchini patch is slowly taking over some of my onions in the garden, so I pulled a bunch and cut the white parts into 4 or 5 inch lengths.  I packed a jar full and re-boiled the brine and added a bit of extra vinegar.  Voila!  I haven’t tried them yet but I think they’d be good chopped up in a salad, or on a cheese plate with some crackers, or maybe chopped up on a veggie burger.

Rosemary Rhubarb Jam
This one got me excited.  I’ve have a slight obsession with rosemary ever since I visited Sooke, BC where it grows in bushes and the air is filled with its scent.  I’ve had a potted rosemary plant for a few years now and its never really produced much, but I still love it (and even hung some Christmas decorations on it last year).  Its living outside for the summer, which I think is doing it well:

I like weird combinations of flavors too, and since I had plenty of each of these on hand, I had to give it a go.  I’m quite proud of the result- I like how the rosemary taste is not too over powering, but still there.  The flavor and color of this jam can only be described as earthy- it reminds me of walks in the west coast forests- makes me feel like I am in a pine forest foraging for berries!  The amount of sugar is a little more than I would like to put in a jam, but then again, rhubarb is pretty tart.  This recipe produced quite  a bit of jam, 4 jars and a bit, enough to share for sure!

Small Batch StrawberryVanilla Jam
Lots of sugar again in this one, but the lemon was a really nice surprise, and I think I will be adding it to my jams again in the future.

 

Have you preserved or canned anything this spring?  What are you favorite recipes?

5 thoughts on “Food in Jars

  1. Oh man, rhubarb rosemary jam does sound good! My rosemary plant is dead already. I think I left it outside before it was really warm enough for it. Oh well.

    • You should have kept the dead plant to harvest the leaves! I’ve killed a few rosemary plants and have always been comforted with the fact that I can still use it.

  2. What a great idea! So convenient to have on hand! I’ve also wanted to get into giving food in jars as gifts (you know like cookie mixes, granola blends – that kind of thing). If you start doing any of that please keep me posted!

Leave a Reply

